Explore the rich and varied collections of the Inverclyde Archives service
Inverclyde Archives cares for a rich and varied collection of archival material spanning over 400 years of Inverclyde's history. The collection includes business and personal records as well as records of the former Burghs of Greenock, Gourock and Port Glasgow.
Our finding aids will help to you explore the range of documents we hold, and are available to download from the links under 'Documents'.
1635: Greenock was created a Burgh of Barony
1833 & 1882: The burgh was enlarged under acts of parliament these years
1840 & 1864: Greenock became a Police Burgh under a local act from 1840 and by general act from 1865. Police burghs were towns who adopted acts of Parliament to elect a town council responsible for policing, paving, lighting and cleansing
1930: Greenock became a Large Burgh under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929
1975: Greenock Burgh was abolished and the area was merged into Inverclyde District Council
1668: Port Glasgow became a burgh of barony erected in favour of Glasgow, later becoming a Police Burgh
1930: It was elevated to the status of a Large Burgh under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929
1975: The Burgh of Port Glasgow was abolished and merged into Inverclyde District Council
1694: Gourock became a burgh of barony erected in favour of Sir William Stewart of Castlemilk. In the 19th century during a period of rapid growth and the arrival of the railway, it became a Police Burgh
1930: Under the under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, Gourock became a small burgh
1975:The Burgh of Gourock was abolished and merged into Inverclyde District Council
Page last updated: 9 March 2020