History of Greenock 1829
Daniel Weir, the first historian of Greenock, was born on March 31 1796. His father was a merchant and Weir served an apprenticeship in book selling and had a business at 57 Cathcart Street, Greenock. He wrote poetry and song lyrics and contributed several songs to 'Scottish Minstrelsy' by R.A. Smith and also edited three volumes of lyric poems under the titles of 'The National Minstrel', 'The Sacred Lyre' and 'Lyrical Gems'. Other poems by him appeared in Glasgow newspapers and in the Greenock Advertiser. In 1829 he wrote his most ambitious work, the first published history of Greenock. The lengthy list of subscribers reflecting the growing wealth of the town and the increasing interest in the town's past. His work was printed in Glasgow, Edinburgh and London in addition to Greenock and serves as an invaluable guide to early nineteenth century Greenock. Daniel Weir died on 11 November 1831.
Weir's History of the Town of Greenock originally included illustrations by John Fleming and others and maps of the Shaw's Water Scheme. These have been excluded from the download version of the book which is text only. A complete edition with illustrations was reprinted by the Grian Press in 2004 ISBN: 0954799615.
Page last updated: 12 November 2019