Book of the Month

February 2024

In The Blink of An Eye
In The Blink of An Eye

In The Blink of An Eye by Jo Callaghan  

In the UK, someone is reported missing every 90 seconds. Just gone. Vanished. In the blink of an eye.  DCS Kat Frank knows all about loss.

A widowed single mother, Kat is a cop who trusts her instincts. Picked to lead a pilot programme that has her paired with AIDE (Artificially Intelligent Detective Entity) Lock, Kat's instincts come up against Lock's logic. But when the two missing person's cold cases they are reviewing suddenly become active, Lock is the only one who can help Kat when the case gets personal.
 

AI versus human experience.  Logic versus instinct. With lives on the line can the pair work together before someone else becomes another statistic?
 

In the Blink of an Eye is a dazzling debut from an exciting new voice and asks us what we think it means to be human. 

Text taken from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/in-the-blink-of-an-eye/jo-callaghan/9781398511194

 

January 2024

BOTMJAN24
The Wager

The Wager  by David Grann  
 

The author of the acclaimed Killers of the Flower Moon unspools the thrilling true story of the wreck of the eponymous eighteenth-century British vessel and the extraordinary claims made by two different groups of survivors that resulted in a nerve-jangling court martial.

On 28th January 1742, a ramshackle vessel of patched-together wood and cloth washed up on the coast of Brazil. Inside were thirty emaciated men, barely alive, and they had an extraordinary tale to tell. They were survivors of His Majesty's ship The Wager, a British vessel that had left England in 1740 on a secret mission during an imperial war with Spain.

While chasing a Spanish treasure-filled galleon, The Wager was wrecked on a desolate island off the coast of Patagonia. The crew, marooned for months and facing starvation, built the flimsy craft and sailed for more than a hundred days, traversing 2,500 miles of storm-wracked seas. They were greeted as heroes… But were they!

Text taken from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-wager/david-grann/9781471183706

 

December 2023


Yellowface by R.F. Kuang 

Yellowface
Yellowface - BOTM Dec 23

Athena Liu is a literary darling and June Hayward is literally nobody.
White lies...

When Athena dies in a freak accident, June steals her unpublished manuscript and publishes it as her own under the ambiguous name Juniper Song.

Dark humour...

But as evidence threatens June’s stolen success, she will discover exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves.

Deadly consequences…

What happens next is entirely everyone else’s fault.

Text taken from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/yellowface/rebecca-f-kuang/9780008532772

 


November 2023

The Drift by C. J. Tudor   

The Drift
The Drift

During a deadly snowstorm, Hannah awakens to carnage, all mangled metal and shattered glass. Evacuated from a secluded boarding school, her coach careered off the road, trapping her with a handful of survivors.

Meg awakens to a gentle rocking. She's in a cable car stranded high above snowy mountains, with five strangers and no memory of how they got on board.

Carter is gazing out of the window of an isolated ski chalet that he and his companions call home. As their generator begins to waver in the storm, the threat of something lurking in the chalet's depths looms larger.

Outside, the storm rages. Inside one group, a killer lurks. But which one? And who will make it out alive?

Text taken from https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-drift/c-j-tudor/9781405948272

 

 

 

October 2023

The Land of Lost Things by John Connolly 

The Land of the Lost Things
The Land of the Lost Things

This breathtaking sequel to Connolly's bestselling The Book of Lost Things revels once more in folklore and myth, as a comatose girl finds herself drawn to a mysterious property on her hospital's grounds.

Twice upon a time - for that is how some stories should continue.

Phoebe, an eight-year-old girl, lies comatose following a car accident. She is a body without a spirit, a stolen child.

Ceres, her mother, can only sit by her bedside and read aloud to Phoebe the fairy stories she loves in the hope they might summon her back to this world. But it is hard to keep faith, so very hard.

Now an old house on the hospital grounds, a property connected to a book written by a vanished author, is calling to Ceres. Something wants her to enter, and to journey - to a land coloured by the memories of Ceres's childhood, and the folklore beloved of her father, to a land of witches and dryads, giants and mandrakes; to a land where old enemies are watching, and waiting.

To the Land of Lost Things.

Text taken from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-land-of-lost-things/john-connolly/9781399727822

 

 

September 2023

The Book of the Fire
The Book of the Fire

The Book of Fire by Christy Lefteri  

A luminous and arresting tale of destruction and redemption, this intimate novel from the bestselling author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo follows the community of a small Greek island in the aftermath of a devastating, deliberately started fire.

This morning, I met the man who started the fire. He did something terrible, but then, so have I. I left him. I left him and now he may be dead. Once upon a time there was a beautiful village that held a million stories of love and loss and peace and war, and it was swallowed up by a fire that blazed up to the sky. The fire ran all the way down to the sea where it met with its reflection.

A family from two nations, England and Greece, live a simple life on a tiny Greek island: Irini, Tasso and their daughter, lovely, sweet Chara, whose name means joy. Their life goes up in flames in a single day when one man starts a fire out of greed and indifference. Many are killed, homes are destroyed, and the island's natural beauty wiped out. In the wake of the fire, Chara bears deep scars across her back and arms. Tasso is frozen in trauma, devastated that he wasn't there when his family most needed him. And Irini is crippled by guilt at her part in the fate of the man who started the fire. But this family has survived, and slowly green shoots of hope and renewal will grow from the smouldering ruins of devastation.

Once again, Christy Lefteri has crafted a novel which is intimate and epic, sweeping and delicate. The Book of Fire explores not only the damage wrought by human folly, but also - and ultimately - our powers of redemption and renewal.

Text taken from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-book-of-fire/christy-lefteri/9781786581563




June 2023

The Black Dog
The Black Dog

The Black Dog - Kevin Bridges 

The Black Dog is the exciting debut novel from one of Britain's most-loved comedians, Kevin Bridges.

Declan dreams of becoming a writer. It's a dream that helps him escape the realities of his life - going through the motions at college and stacking supermarket shelves part-time, whilst fighting a battle with the ever-darkening thoughts in his head.

He has his pet Labrador for companionship and his best friend-turned-mentor, a pseudo-intellectual who works as a greenskeeper at the local municipal golf course, both of which help keep the worst of his anxieties at bay. But following a drunken row with local gangsters, Declan's worries threaten to spiral out of control.

James Cavani - Declan's idol and his hometown's claim to fame - is a renowned writer, director and actor. But despite his success, his past hasn't relinquished its hold of him, and through his younger sister's battle with drug addiction, he finds himself returning to a world he thought he had escaped.

At face value, their lives couldn't be more different, but perhaps fate has a way of bringing kindred spirits together - and perhaps each holds the other's redemption in their hands.

Text from: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-black-dog/kevin-bridges/9781472289070

 

 

 

May 2023

The Salt Path by Raynor Winn
The Salt Path

The Salt Path by Raynor Winn 

For Raynor Winn and her husband Moth, the cruellest of diagnoses and the simultaneous collapse of their business opens an unexpected door to salvation through a journey which over its length transforms into a sweeping narrative of inner courage and nature’s ability to heal. 

Just days after Raynor learns that Moth, her husband of 32 years is terminally ill, their home and livelihood is taken away.

With nothing left and little time, they make the brave and impulsive decision to walk the 630 miles of the sea-swept South West Coast Path, from Somerset to Dorset, via Devon and Cornwall.

They have almost no money for food or shelter and must carry only the essentials for survival on their backs as they live wild in the ancient, weathered landscape of cliffs, sea and sky. Yet through every step, every encounter, and every test along the way, their walk becomes a remarkable journey.

The Salt Path is an honest and life-affirming true story of coming to terms with grief and the healing power of the natural world. Ultimately, it is a portrayal of home, and how it can be lost, rebuilt, and rediscovered in the most unexpected ways.

Text from:
https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-salt-path/raynor-winn/9781405937184

 

April 2023
 

Lessons in Chemistry
Lessons in Chemistry

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus 

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.

But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute take a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with - of all things - her mind. True chemistry results.

But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later, Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ('combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride') proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo.  Meet the unconventional, uncompromising Elizabeth Zott.

https://www.waterstones.com/book/lessons-in-chemistry/bonnie-garmus/9781804990926

 


March 2023

Murder Before Evensong
Murder before Evensong

Murder before evensong by Rev. Richard Coles  

Perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club, this brilliant crime debut from The Reverend Richard Coles sees the sleepy parish of Champton descend into unexpected chaos, setting Canon Daniel Clement on a hunt for a murderer.

Daniel Clement is Rector of Champton, where he lives alongside his widowed mother - opinionated, fearless, ever-so-slightly annoying Audrey - and his two dachshunds, Cosmo and Hilda.

When Daniel announces a plan to install a lavatory in the church, the parish is suddenly (and unexpectedly) divided: as lines are drawn, long-buried secrets come dangerously close to destroying the apparent calm of the village.

And then Anthony Bowness - cousin to Bernard de Floures, patron of Champton - is found dead at the back of the church. As the police moves in and the bodies start piling up, Daniel is the only one who can try and keep his community together... and catch a killer..

Text taken from:https://www.waterstones.com/book/murder-before-evensong/reverend-richard-coles/9781474612647