Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West 2024 General Election Result

Martin McCluskey, Scottish Labour Party, has been elected as the MP for Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West.

Eight candidates stood in the 2024 UK Parliamentary General Election for the new constituency following recent boundary changes.

The Inverclyde constituency area has been enlarged and now includes Bridge of Weir, Houston, and surrounding areas in Renfrewshire West.

The candidates and the votes that they each received were:

  • John Burleigh                                                                                                               365
  • Ronnie Cowan – Scottish National Party (SNP)                                                          12,560
  • Iain Adams Hamilton – Scottish Green Party                                                               1,173
  • Martin McCluskey – Scottish Labour Party                                                                  18,931
  • Christopher William McEleny – Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence                  723
  • Simon Charles Wheeler Moorehead – Reform UK                                                      2,476
  • Ted Runciman – Scottish Conservative and Unionist                                                  2,863
  • Ross Stalker – Scottish Liberal Democrats                                                                  1,259

The total number of votes cast was 40,451, with a turnout of 57.68%. 

There were 101 rejected ballot papers.

The results and more information about the Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West Constituency is available on the Inverclyde Council website election page at or via the link in the Related Links section of this page.